Code Girls by Liza Mundy

The New Year Kindle Challenge required a Women’s History Month book. After skimming through the list of books that qualified, I found an interesting one that was on Kindle Unlimited, which is great because I didn’t need to purchase the actual book. The title sounded interesting as I’ve read historical fiction books previously that mentioned coded messages being sent from various countries often to their vessels or others in faraway places.

Little did I know how much work actually went into deciphering messages and how quickly it needed to be accomplished. With most of the able men being shipped off to fight the war, many educated women were recruited to help with the decode messages. These women relocated and were not allowed to tell anyone what they were actually doing at work.

This book narrows down the goings on in a variety of locations and how each team was not allowed to disclose anything, even to neighboring teams. Their work was highly secretive. Translators had a lot to work on as well since they were dealing with messages from so many countries like Germany, France, Italy, and later Japan. Even codes got more difficult and challenging as the days went on.

Thankfully, these women and men who worked so diligently to figure out the many messages were so hard working and determined to do their part. While I usually enjoy a good historical fiction, particularly regarding WWII era, I did really enjoy the ins and outs of this book. The information and research for this book was compiled perfectly. I give it 5 out of 5 tiaras and I am thankful for my bookmark badge for this!