The Beginning by Jess Mastorakos

For a while now I’ve been receiving emails from several authors who wrote amazing books. One of said authors is Jess Mastorakos. I’ll admit I don’t read all the emails but sometimes I feel compelled to read it. One day I found that she was in Hawaii, not far from where I live. I’ve since paid close attention to her books and social media. She writes romance revolving around the military, a topic she’s familiar with as a military spouse herself.

While many books are available in Kindle Unlimited, I decided to pick a series and start from the beginning, with one titled ironically, The Beginning. sometimes it takes me a while to read something from authors I subscribe to, I admit it!! I’ve just a really long TBR! I’ll get too many new authors this year, it’s a goal of mine!

The Beginning starts out with a Marine who‘s helping his mother set up a wedding venue for a friend. A pretty florist looks like she needs help and Thatcher offers to help. His date to this wedding ditched him earlier and he asks this florist if she would be his date. All goes well until she learns he’s a Marine and prefers to keep her distance because she refuses to leave her parents as they struggle to keep their flower shop running.

Thatcher offers to help out at the shop on his days off. His relationship with Hattie grows and eventually she agrees to date Thatcher. But for how long? Her parents have had to lay off all their hired help, it appears the shop is struggling a lot more than Hattie thought. Will she be able to help her parents keep it afloat? What will they do when their free help from Thatcher goes away because he’s moving?

This is a lovely little novella with more books to follow in the Brides of Beaufort series. I give this book 5 out of 5 tiaras because I enjoyed the little banter between Hattie and Thatcher and look forward to reading the next in the series.