The Midwife by the Sea by Jo Bartlett

In my years of reading and reviewing books, I’ve read a few about midwives in Cornwall by Jo Bartlett, but I hadn’t read book #1 of The Midwife by the Sea series. Now that I think about it, this isn’t the only series that only missing book #1!

Anyway, Ella returns home to Cornwall after her fiancé broken off their wedding live on social media by a popular influencer who happened to bed getting married after her. She’s embarrassed and hoping several months back home will be what she needs to show her face again in London.

She takes a temporary position as a midwife in Cornwall. The midwives are a close bunch who are also close friends. Ella blends in quite well with this group and she easily finds herself enjoying their company. All goes well until she finds her very first client is her ex-boyfriend sister.

She and Dan dated in high school to Ella’s fathers dismay. He didn’t like Dan because he’s not from Port Agnes. But Dan’s been through a lot as a child and he’s chosen to make his life here. He now owns a business refurbishing a historic part of Port Agnes.

Elias determined to leave once her contract is done. But it seems everyone else had different plans for her. Now it’s up to Ella to take a step back to see if remaining near her parents and their bakery is something she wants for herself.

I absolutely love the characters and the storyline. This series is adorable and it makes me want to be in their midst. I give this book 5 out of 5 tiaras for the adventure and good friends I made here!