The Library Girls of the East End by Patricia McBride

Historical fiction series, particularly in England during World War II. My absolute favorite genre. I could read these historical fiction stories day after day and still not get enough! I could not resist this series about the library girls of the East End, how could I?

Mavis and Janet work at the East End library where Cordelia becomes their new boss. Being from posher society, Cordelia isn’t sure she’ll fit in and the others aren’t sure they’ll like her either. Fortunately, they all seem to get along grandly.

Hard times fall in London. The air raids are more and more frequent. Children relocated into the country to live with people they don’t know. Rations limited what each family could buy for food. Challenges of rape, loved ones returning from war as different people, even the ability of a woman to work outside the home are some of the things the people experienced.

I really love Cordelia. She may have the title of a Lady, but her behavior is of a woman with compassion. She’s caring and loving. She’s also no nonsense and refuses to be pushed around. Her character is who I would love to be described as and dream of having her status!

There are real issues the people went through and mentioned in this story. Some issues I’ve read about in other historical fiction as well. It helps to better understand what life might have been like in that time.

I give this book 5 out of 5 tiaras because it is fast moving and adventurous. I’ve come to love the characters and their situations. I’m so glad this is a series and the characters will carry on into the new book!!